Introduction

All about the Edgewood Neighborhood of Washington, DC

Questions/Comments/Story Ideas - email me at lifeontheedgewood@gmail.com





Tuesday, June 14, 2011

CSX Holding up Pedestrian Bridge in Edgewood

CSX is holding up the building of the pedestrian bridge in Edgewood from the Met Branch Trail to the Rhode Island Avenue metro station.  Last year I wrote about the planned bridge to improve safety and access to the metro station from Edgewood.  Here is a link that shows the plans for the bridge and all the reasons that it is desperately needed!  I wrote about the number of people that would dangerously cross the railroad tracks and get stuck in the barbwire cutting themselves.  I have written multiple times about how the narrow sidewalks under the bridge and the decrepit staircase to the metro are dangerous for pedestrians. 


The major hurdles such as designing the bridge, WMATA easements and funding are already accomplished leaving CSX as the last hurdle before DDOT can move the project forward.  CSX must grant DC air rights to the space above their railroad tracks in order for the bridge to be built.  CSX was very quick to erect prison-style chainlink and barbwire fencing around the tracks after the completion of the Met Branch Trail in Edgewood.  Why now when there is a safer, more attractive alternative to crossing the tracks are they dragging their feet?

We must put pressure on them to move the project forward!!  I have been emailing Harry Thomas Jr. and his staff about this for years now and have decided to move on to Tommy Wells to try and get this accomplished.  Please email, tweet and call them both until something is done.  The more voices and reminders the better!

Here is the contact information that you will need:

Harry Thomas, Jr., Ward 5
Office: 1350 Pennsylvania Avenue, Suite 107, NW Washington, DC 20004
Tel: (202) 724-8028
Fax: (202) 724-8076
Email: hthomas@dccouncil.us

Key Staff

Ayawna Chase
Chief of Staff
(202)724-8024
achase@dccouncil.us

James Pittman
Legislative Counsel
(202) 724-8114
jpittman@dccouncil.us

Victoria Leonard - Chambers
Director, Policy and Strategic Communication
(202) 727-8204
Vleonard@dccouncil.us

Neil Rodgers
Committee Clerk
(202) 724-8155
nrodgers@dccouncil.us

Marjorie Barnes
Administrative Assistant
(202) 724-8028
mbarnes@dccouncil.us

Monique Smith
Specialist/Scheduler
(202) 724-8918
msmith@dccouncil.us



Tommy Wells, Ward 6
Office: 1350 Pennsylvania Avenue, Suite 408, NW Washington, DC 20004
Tel: (202) 724-8072
Fax: (202) 724-8054
Email: twells@dccouncil.us

Key Staff

Charles Allen
Chief of Staff
callen@dccouncil.us

Myisha Atchison
Administrative Assistant / Scheduler
matchison@dccouncil.us

Linda O’Brien
Deputy Chief of Staff
lobrien@dccouncil.us

Daniel Connor
Policy Specialist
dconnor@dccouncil.us

Bonnie Cain
Policy Advisor for Education
(202) 724-8072
bcain@dccouncil.us

Tawanna Shuford
Director of Constituent Services
(202) 724-8072
tshuford@dccouncil.us

Naomi Mitchell
Community Liaison
nmitchell@dccouncil.us

Pat Joseph
Constituent Services Specialist
pjoseph@dccouncil.us

Jonathon Kass
Committee Director
jkass@dccouncil.us

Brian Davidson
Intern, Policy and Legislation
bdavidson@dccouncil.us

Anne Phelps
Committee Counsel
aphelps@dccouncil.us

Vivian McCarter
Constituent Services Specialist
vmccarter@dccouncil.us

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post a Comment